which headers to go with

T

txroadrage

i'm wanting to add headers to my 351 but am not sure which ones to go with.short or full length,which brand bassani etc.i am also getting the high flow cats but am not sure which way i'm going on that either.i now have just straight 3" pipes from my cats to my side exit supertrapps.would appreciate any input from all. thanks

Im not an expert on these yet, as I havent installed them. But I just got my Bassani headers in this week, they look great, all there products do. No one has ever complained about fit either. Im still waiting for an X-pipe. I can comment more as I finish my motor and get the exhasut installed, but just looking at them, I say go with Bassani.

Longtubes are non-existant if you want an "off-the-shelf" header. Well, I shouldn't say that because I believe Hooker makes a longtube with 1-1/2" primaries (yuck) for '80-'95 F150s that fit, but I am personally leery of their quality. It's a "cheap" header if you know what I mean, and a bit undersized IMHO. Your only real option for a longtube is to have something built, which is gonna cost some bucks. I have a set that was custom built for my truck, but I've not yet installed them. Should have 'em on within the next two months or so, and I'll post the results...

Moral: if you want an easy bolt-on, many of the shorties out there are just fine. But if you absolutely have to have a longtube, then you'll probably need to go with a custom header.

Hope that helps.

- Kevin

I have full length headers on my 94.It is mostly stock except for the usual add ons. Are the full length more for high end power?
I've always thought the shorty's were made for low end torque.I am trying to decide if I should put the stock ones back on.
Jason
#450-'94
NLOC# coming